January 20th: Rediscovering Bloom

Rediscovering Bloom

This blog wasn’t an official prompt for last week but I decided to make one since I’m aiming to post one for each week of class. The questions above made me first felt like we were tasked to look for Waldo; the tricky thing is that we don’t know what Waldo looks like. However, as soon as I finished researching about Bloom’s revised taxonomy, it actually became easier to find what I was looking for.

I think that Bloom’s revised taxonomy is the whole process of schooling itself. I am comfortable enough to claim that each levels of the revised taxonomy are always targeted. It’s like the process for every lesson I learned from every class subject and/or course that I’ve taken. However, I honestly have never heard of the term Bloom’s revised taxonomy before. Maybe this is because the integration of Bloom’s revised taxonomy becomes a commonsense within the school. In other words, we just get too familiarized with the processes that we barely recognize their existence although we consistently use them. This ideology is just like how we see strangers while we walk. From Classroom to Education building, I cannot recognize who are the people I’ve crossed paths already; this is because I never thought that I need to recognize them at all. However, among the crowds, if I was informed to know a specific individual, then I’ll recognize our meeting whenever we cross paths.

It also means that we cyclically practice our levels of thinking. With all these in mind, I want to consider that Bloom’s revised taxonomy was a cognitive type of learning because all levels practice thinking skills. For example, to write an exam, one has to remember what was taught.

I felt like the curriculum itself gives too much freedom on how we teach and I like it that way. I think that it allows us to be flexible and creative in building our lessons and teaching skills. Now that I know about Bloom’s revised taxonomy, I felt more comfortable because it can be used as a guide on how we deliver our lessons as well as to assess the class.

Leave a Reply

